Division of Terrorism and Bias Crime Spring Report April, 2019

The DTBC was created in 2015 and it has a current paid membership of 114 (compared to 96 at this time last year); and a current balance of \$6,315(compared to \$5,500 at this time last year).

Our current DTBC Board is composed of the following members:

Joshua D. Freilich, Chair Steven M. Chermak, Vice Chair Carla Lewandowski, Secretary/Treasurer Sue-Ming Yang, Executive Counselor Nancy Morris, Executive Counselor Pete Simi, Executive Counselor William S. Parkin, Social Media/Web Manager Leevia Dillon, Student Member

In January 2019 we scheduled a conference call with these main agenda items:

1. The Board followed up on last year's report and activities that led to Gary LaFree crafting a draft of the DTBC's establishment and history that was then edited by Jen Carson, Josh Freilich, Sue-Ming Yang and others. We approved this document that outlined the establishment and history of the DTBC and will soon place this document on our website.

2. Relatedly, we discussed the content of our Website and decided to post our Annual Distinguished Scholars award speeches, DTBC meeting photos, and related items on our Division website.

3. Following up on the November 2018 annual membership, and Executive Board meetings we decided to perform a service for membership by soliciting paper abstracts for 2019 single paper terrorism/bias crime presentations at ASC that currently have no panel. Jen Carson agreed to lead this effort and to subsequently group those submitted lone papers into full panels for the 2019 meetings.

4. The Board approved DTBC twitter and social media guidelines that were crafted by our Social Media committee chaired by Pete Simi. These guidelines will govern the DTBC's Twitter account.

5. Following the Executive Board and membership's approval at the 2018 ASC meetings to formally add the social media/web manager position as a full voting member of the Board, our Bylaws Committee Chair Steve Chermak crafted revised bylaws text. The Board approved these revised bylaws text and will have it placed on the DTBC's election ballot later this year for membership to vote on.

6. The Board discussed issuing the announcements for the DTBC's two annual awards:

Distinguished Scholar Award who receives a plaque and makes a short address at the annual meeting; and the top two student authored studies. The first place paper receives a \$500 award, and a plaque, while the second place paper receives \$250 and a plaque. Nancy Morris is chairing the Awards committee and these awards will again be presented at the annual 2019 meeting.

7. Preparation for the election of new DTBC members for next term for Chair (replacing Josh Freilich), Vice Chair (replacing Steve Chermak), one Executive Counselor (replacing Nancy Morris), one student member (replacing Leevia Dillon) and consideration of the bylaw revisions (see above) is underway.. We will again develop a list of nominees and an electronic ballot, and the elections will be held over the summer. Sue-Ming Yang is chairing the Elections committee.

8. Reach out to other professional associations to collaborate; and continuing to grow our membership. Jen Carson is chairing our Membership/outreach committee.

9. Fundraise, and possibly endow our student awards. Freilich is chairing our Fundraising committee. Freilich had a phone conversation with representatives from Routledge/Tylor Francis to discuss possible initiatives and collaborations. Routledge will continue these conversations with the DTBC during the spring and will meet with the full Board at the 2019 ASC meetings.

10. Planning for the 2019 DTBC Division meeting in San Francisco is well under way with Treasurer/Secretary Carla Lewandowski playing the lead role.