Division of Terrorism and Bias Crime Spring Report March 16, 2018

The DTBC was created in 2015 and it has a current membership of 96 and a current balance of \$5,500.

Our current DTBC Board is composed of the following members:

Joshua D. Freilich, Chair Steven M. Chermak, Vice Chair Sue-Ming Yang, Secretary/Treasurer Laura Dugan, Executive Counselor Nancy Morris, Executive Counselor Jeff Gruenewald, Executive Counselor Gary LaFree, Immediate Past Chair (& Founder) William S. Parkin, Social Media/Web Manager Brent Klein, Student Member

In February 2018 we scheduled a conference call with these main agenda items:

- 1. To move forward on the proposal to formalize the change in our elections so that we have staggered representation on the Executive Committee by electing a new Chair, Vice Chair and one Executive Committee member one year and electing a Secretary-Treasurer and two other Executive Committee members the following year. Laura Dugan is chairing a subcommittee to address this issue.
- 2. Following up on a decision made at our annual Board, and also Membership meetings at the ASC conference in Philadelphia, we have created a new Student Paper Award that will recognize the top two student authored studies. The first place paper will receive a \$500 award, and a Plaque, while the second place paper will receive \$250 and a plaque. The awards will be presented at the annual ASC Division meeting. Steven Chermak is Chairing the sub-committee that will manage the submission process, and select the winners.
- 3. Selecting the DTBC's Outstanding Scholar Award. Last year, this subcommittee was chaired by Joshua Freilich and it selected Brent L. Smith as the 2017 DTBC's inaugural Outstanding Scholar. Brent received a plaque and gave a short address during the Division meeting in Philadelphia. This year's award application and selection process will be managed by a sub-Committee chaired by Laura Dugan. The award will be presented at the annual ASC Division meeting and the winner will receive a plaque and will again make a short address.
- 4. Preparation for the election of new DTBC members for next term for Treasurer/Secretary (to replace Sue-Ming Yang) and 2 Executive Counselors (to replace Laura Dugan & Jeff Gruenewald). We will develop a list of nominees & the elections will be held over the summer

and will be monitored by Sue-Ming Yang & Jeff Gruenwald. William Parkin will assist them by developing the web site to be used for the elections.

- 5. Reach out to other professional associations to collaborate; and continuing to grow our membership. Carla Lewandowski is chairing our Outreach committee
- 6. Fundraise, and possibly endow our student awards. Nancy Morris is chairing our Fundraising committee.
- 7. Crafting a Division History & Narrative. LaFree, Freilich & Yang will work on this.
- 8. William Parkin & Jeff Gruenewald are working on devising guidelines for our Division's social media activities in terms of circulating relevant information, highlighting members' activities, and promoting interactions among our members.
- 9. Planning for the 2018 DTBC Division meeting in Atlanta is well under way with Sue-Ming Yang playing a lead role.