Division of Terrorism and Bias Crime Spring Report April 18, 2017

The DTBC which started in 2015 is up and running with a current membership of 121 and a current balance of \$5,219.

Our current DTBC is composed of the following members:

Gary LaFree, Chair Joshua D. Freilich, Vice Chair Sue-Ming Yang, Secretary/Treasurer Laura Dugan, Executive Counselor Brian Forst, Executive Counselor Jeff Gruenewald, Executive Counselor Nancy Morris, Chair of Outreach Committee Carla Lewandowski Jennifer Carson Will Parkin

In January 2017 we scheduled a conference call with these main agenda items:

1. To consider a proposal to change our elections so that we have staggered representation on the Executive Committee by electing a new Chair, Vice Chair and one Executive Committee member one year and electing a Secretary-Treasurer and two other Executive Committee members the following year. We undertook an electronic vote from the DTBC membership and generated sufficient votes to have this item added to the agenda for our upcoming meeting in Philadelphia. Laura Dugan is chairing a subcommittee that will propose a change in the DTBC by-laws at the annual meetings in Philadelphia.

2. Preparation for the election of new DTBC members for next term. We have developed a list of nominees. The elections will be held in June and monitored by Brian Forst. Will Parkin is developing the web site to be used for the elections.

3. Selection of a DTBC outstanding scholar. After reviewing nominations, the subcommittee chaired by Josh Freilich, selected Brent Smith as the 2017 DTBC Outstanding Scholar. Brent will give a short address during the Division meeting in Philadelphia.

4. Planning for the 2017 DTBC Division meeting in Philadelphia is well under way with Sue-Ming Yang playing a lead role.